NANTA Inducts 10 Travel Journalists Into Media Hall Of Fame 



The newly inducted Travel Journalists into NANTA Media Hall of Fame . From left: Taiye Olayemi(NAN), Ifeoma Okeke (Businessday), Wole Oyebade(Guardian),Abel Orukpe(AbelNews), Chinedu Eze(Thisday),Nosa Aituamen(Radio Nigeria),Wole Shadare(New Telegraph)Franklin Ihejirika(Nigerianfranknews), Olusegun Koiki(Daily Independent)and Wale Olapade(Nigerian Tribune), the NANTA Board of Trustee(BoT), Mr. Dayo Adeola, Sabre President, Elder Gbenga Olowo, NANTA President, Mrs. Susan Akporiaye, NANTA Vice President, Yinka Folami and other dignitaries present at  Golfview Hotel in Lagos.


…Says Event Will  Be  A Yearly Affair



The National Association of Nigeria Travel Agents(NANTA)) has inducted 10 travel journalists into NANTA Media Hall of Fame.

According to the National President of NANTA, Mrs. Susan Akporiaye , they were inducted ,” In recognition of their outstanding contributions to Nigeria travel industry.

The inductees were drawn from online, broadcast and print journalism and they include Abel Orukpe, Franklin Ihejirika, Segun Koiki, Wole Shadare, Nosa Aituamen, Wole Oyebade, Ifeoma Okeke and Chinedu Eze

Speaking at an event organised by NANTA to induct these journalists, Akporiaye, said   inducting journalists into NANTA Media Hall of Fame is to show appreciation to them for their contributions to  the Nigeria travel industry in general and the association in particular and also for doing their job professionally

She said that in view of their contributions, she decided to come up with the idea of appreciating travel journalists by introducing NANTA Media Hall of Fame.

The induction, she said, would be a yearly affair and that a room would be dedicated to travel media at the association’s head office adding that the essence is for people to visit and see what the travel journalists have done.

According to her,” The NANTA Media Hall of Fame will form the fulcrum of the relationship between  NANTA and travel journalists”

She urged travel journalists to endeavour to advice the association when it is derailing or deviating in the interest of the industry.

Also speaking, the Chairman, Board of Trustee(BoT),Mr. Dayo Adeola commended  the newly inductees /travel journalists for carrying out their  jobs professionally,

In his words, “You have done marvelously well. You have accommodated and you are still accommodating both the good and the bad of NANTA. What is key is that you have character. You people on the table have character.”

He said that because of the positive write up of the travel journalists, people  who before regarded travel agents as touts and reliable people,now see travel agents as very reliable people and professionals.

This, he said, is commendable and that it would not have happened without the contributions of the travel journalists.

“You have helped to change the negative perception and the narrative people have about NANTA. Where we err, please forgive and advise us,”

On his part, President/CEOSabre Network Africa, Dr. Gbenga Olowo , commended NANTA for its resilience, adding that he decided to support NANTA under the leadership of Susan Akporiaye because  she embraced local travel.

He also said that the innovative nature of the current President of the association endeared him to NANTA and that with the innovative ideas she has brought into the association, the group is bound to move forward.

The Sabre boss appreciated the travel journalists for displaying professionalism in the course of discharging their duties and congratulating them for being inducted into the NANTA Media Hall of Fame.

Highlight of the event was the induction of the journalists who meited it into the Hall of Fame

Be the first to comment on "NANTA Inducts 10 Travel Journalists Into Media Hall Of Fame "

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.