NANTA Inaugurates 3 Standing Committees


…Receives Complaints From Scammed Travelers By Briefcase Agents


The National Association of Nigeria Travel Agencies (NANTA) today formally and virtually inaugurated three standing committees of the Lagos Zone of the body.

The committees are: Travel Policy and Standards Committee, Conduct and Disciplinary Committee and Advocacy & Outreach Committee.

The Vice President, NANTA Lagos Zone, Mr. Yinka Folami, who virtually inaugurated the committees, charged members of the three committees to ensure that they discharge the duties effectively and selflessly to ensure that they move NANTA forward.

According to him with these committees, NANTA will further engage disciplined professional practices of its members, recognition by regulators and connection with stakeholders, particularly the Nigerian traveling public.

“We want to eradicate touting from the profession and promote professionalism in travel agency business.  We want to tell the world that we can organise ourselves and that we are professionals . I believe that anything we have conceived can be achieved,” Folami said.

He urged the media to help in promoting and projecting NANTA and its activities.

The VP acknowledged that COVID-19 containment protocols of the different arms/agencies of government and extended prayers and best wishes to the traveling public, aviation stakeholders, and the entire Nigerian community.

In his words, “As we begin to stabilize, from the devastating effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, we urge that there is no loss of concentration and that we continue to abide strictly to the set protocols.”

He thanked the National President of NANTA, Mrs. Susan Akporiaye, national officers of NANTA, Mr. Daisi Olotu, Mr. Yinka Ladipo, Mr. Yinka Olapade, NANTA Lagos Zone Officers, the immediate past VP Mrs. Lola Adewole, Ms. Bukola Aliu, Mr. Taiwo Oludayo, Mr. Kola Anigioro, Mr. Isaac Iwafemi, Alhaji Monsuru Oyebola, Mr. Yinka Folami, the Amazon; Mrs Tinuke Nwakohu and the distinguished members of the committees.

According to Folami the Travel Policy and Standards Committee is made up of seven members.

They are:  Mr. Chudi Aligwekwe, Mrs. Omonike Adesokan ,  Mrs. Chinwe Eluchie,  Mrs. Funmilayo Oriola, Mrs. Yinka Eniayekan,  Mr. Nwankwo Ifeanyi,  Ms. Bukola Aliu (Exco Observer).

The committee, Folami explained would be responsible for monitoring and advising approaches, travel policies, and practices to achieve balance in the travel trade in the Lagos market

Conduct and Disciplinary Committee, the Vice President, NANTA Lagos Zone, said would be responsible for interpreting the Code of Conduct as stipulated in the NANTA Constitution and administer standards which NANTA members must comply with.

The members of this Committee includes: Mrs. Arit Tunde-Imoyo , Mrs. Olubunmi Lawal,  Mrs.  Folakemi Fatade, Mr. Alabi Kazeem Ishola, Mrs. Adetunji Farinu,  Mrs. Lola Adefope , Mr. Oluwasanmi Shobayo, Mrs. Lola Adewole (Exco Observer)

The Advocacy & Outreach Committee, he pointed out is saddled with the responsibility of establishing and maintaining relationships/partnerships with both active and passive members of NANTA and with stakeholders

The committee, he added us made up of eight members which include: Mr. Efetobo Awhana, Mr. Adekunle Oluwole , Mrs. Joanna Owolabi,  Mrs. Taiwo Omoifoh,  Mrs. Abimbola Abiona, Mrs. Elohor Kagho, Mrs. Eke Stella, Mr. Taiwo Oludayo (Exco Observer)

Folami also recalled the success of the NANTA’s Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Committee established to provide relief to families within the vicinity of the NANTA headquarters in Lagos (Fadeyi, Ikorodu Road) and to support the COVID -19 Safety Protocols by distributing 1500 face-masks to aviation frontline workers  in the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria(FAAN), Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority(NCAA),international Air Transport Association(IATA), Bi-Courtney Aviation Services Limited(BASL), Immigration, Airport/Airline Check-in personnel and travelling passengers).

According to him, this was successfully executed in August 2020 and because the association needs to maintain a culture of giving back to society, he also, formally made the CSR committee as a standing committee with the following members:  Mrs. Ima Victor-Ekpo,Mrs. Tinuke Nwakohu, Mrs. Adelola Adewole, Mrs. Maryanne Onuoha, Mrs. Joanna Owolabi, Mr. Taiwo Oludayo and Mr. Isaac Iwafemi (Exco Observer)

For Legal Compliance and Enforcement, Folami stated that Mrs. Tinuke Nwakohu, a legal practitioner and travel industry veteran, would provide supervisory oversights for legal compliance of decisions and action plans generated by all four committees.

He also acknowledged efforts of the National President of NANTA, Mrs. Susan Akporiaye, to train, renew, adapt and embrace the challenges of COVID-19 and its severe impact on the travel trade.

Meanwhile, Folami has  confirmed that during the past seven months, the Executive Council of the Lagos Zone had received several complaints from unsuspecting travelers that had fallen scam-victims to impostors (touts)that parade as themselves as Travel Agents.

Speaking further he said, ‘’Before you make that payment for your travel ticket, confirm that the agent is NANTA certified. To the faceless Briefcase Agents, his advice is to sign up with NANTA for disciplined practice or get out of the travel trade. Your time is up and our committees are coming after you’’.


Be the first to comment on "NANTA Inaugurates 3 Standing Committees"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.