MAPOLY Mass Comm.1994/99 Alumni Elect Excos, Donates Multi-Media Equipment To School

* source:


Twenty years after graduating from the then Ogun State Polytechnic (now Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY), the Association of Mass Communication Students Alumni (1994/99 set) has elected maiden executives that will steer its affairs for the next two years.

This is just as the association donated multi-media equipment to the Department of Mass Communication, describing the gesture as a way of giving back to its alma mater.

At an election preceding the reunion in Abeokuta, Ogun State at the weekend with the theme, “The 20 Years Reunion of Seasoned Communicators,” members of the association unanimously elected Mr. Lanre Oyegbola as its pioneer President, while Mrs. Fadeke Omo- Omorodion was equally elected unopposed as its Vice President.

In his acceptance speech, Oyegbola promised to propel the association forward, while also working with his team of executive members.

According to him, part of the agenda of the executives is to allow a flow of talents and give back to the alma mater.

He explained that the new executives would facilitate the association’s bye-law to guide its entire activities, open an official account for the alumni, hold regular meetings and chart a new course for the association, among others.

Besides, Oyegbola and Omo- Omorodion, nine other executives were also elected into different positions.

They were Mr. Babatunde Majekodunmi, Vice President (International), Mr. Goke Dairo; General Secretary, Mrs. Rasheedat Adetutu Ajayi-Yakub; Treasurer and Mrs. Toyin Dairo as the Finance Officer.

Others were Mr. Olusegun Koiki; Public Relations Officer, Mrs. Anne Ogundowo, Social Secretary, Mr. Olawunmi Omotoyinbo, Welfare Officer and Mrs. Olufunke Ogunlade as the Chief whip.

The highlight of the event was the donation of multi-media equipment to the Department by the alumni.

The equipment was presented to the Head, Mass Communication Department, Mr. Kolawole Amos,

Amos, who was accompanied to the event by Dr. Wasiu Tejuosho and Dr. Shola Adeosun, in his speech, lauded the alumni for giving back to the school, 20 years after graduation.

He declared that it was the first time any alumni of the institution would give back to the school and urged them to continue to contribute to the development of the department and the school at large.

“This is the first time any set will give back to the Department of Mass Communication,” he said.

He promised to inform the school’s management of the gesture.

Earlier, the alumni had presented cash prizes to the following students for their exceptional performance in various mass communication specialisations

They are: Rebecca Adelakun as Best Student in Advertising from HND II, Aishat Balogun clinched Best in Advertising from HND II, part-time, while Emmanuel Bashiru emerged Best in Print Journalism from HND II.

Also, Boluwaji Jegede got the prize for the Best Student in Public Relations, while Hauwa Musa and Tobiloba Adesanya equally received cash awards for being the Best Students in Broadcast from HND 2 full time and part-time, respectively.


Be the first to comment on "MAPOLY Mass Comm.1994/99 Alumni Elect Excos, Donates Multi-Media Equipment To School"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.