Sports Commission: Obaseki Inaugurates 11- Member Committee


The  Edo State Governor,Godwin Obaseki, has inaugurated an 11-man committee to fashion out modalities for establishing a sports commission that will help the state bounce back  to her position in sports in the country.

Speaking while inaugurating the committee, Obaseki stated that the idea behind setting up a Committee  experts was the product of a workshop organised by the state government earlier in the year as part of his administration’s resolve to reposition sports in the state.

According to him, “As a government, our desire is to establish a sports commission that will help us meet our aspirations in the sector. We believe that those chosen for this task have the experience, skills, and knowledge in the world of sports, and will provide the framework for a premier sports commission in Nigeria.”

The 11-Man Committee terms of reference according to Obaseki  include: to design a holistic sports policy for Edo State to help reclaim its pride of place in the country, help produce a legal framework to help establish a sports commission, prioritise the content and direction of sports in the state, design a framework to help rebuild sporting institutions and facilities to world class standards, as well as assist to design a strategy for private sector funding for sports in the state, among others.

The committee has six weeks to submit its report.

Responding unbehalf of other members, the Chairman of the Committee and Deputy Governor of Edo State,Philip Shaibu commended  the governor for the confidence reposed in them and promised that the team would do its best to ensure that the state government achieves its desire to reposition sports in the state.

In his words,“When you talk about sports in Nigeria, the committee members are the best names and faces in Nigeria and I want to assure you that the committee will not fail in this task. The report will capture the essence of the vision of sports by this administration.”

Other members of the Committee are :the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youths and Special Duties, Edo State, Mrs. Osayuware Idahosa(Secretary),Godwin Dudu-Orumen, Aisha Falode, Ejiro Omonode, Isaac Ikhuoria, Barr. Osayaba Osarenren, Mike Itemuagbor, Austin Eguavoen, Frank Ilaboya and Dr. Kweku Tandoh.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *