Delta Lawmakers Pass Vote Of Confidence On Okowa, Igbuya, Others

Delta State House of Assembly Lawmakers has commended Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, Speaker, Rt. Hon Monday Igbuya and other principal officers of the House for strengthening the bond of unity, fostering the spirit of oneness, enhancing development and promoting good governance.
This is just as the lawmakers also passed a vote of confidence on them.
This followed a motion moved by the representative of Warri South 11 state constituency, Barrister Dennis Omovie, during the proceedings in the legislature.
Omovie is a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) member.
Omovie, who is the Chairman, House Committee on Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC), commended Governor Okowa for his sterling performance and integrity.
“Whereas there is no gainsaying that Nigeria and by extension Delta State suffered dangerous drop in her revenue being a mono- driven economy. Whereas there is no correspondent drop in the very high expectations of the citizenry and by extension our various constituents.” he said
Specifically, he praised Governor Okowa for representing the interests and the desires of the people.
According to him, “We in Delta State can walk tall in the midst of this dangerous paucity of resources because we are blessed with a man who is a wonderful manager. Governor Okowa is managing Delta State as if there is surplus. He is giving to Delta State and Deltans what they expect.”
He also praised Okowa, Igbuya and others for strengthening the state’s economy, expanding job opportunities and reducing spending.
In his words, “My colleagues, I therefore move that a vote of confidence be passed on this wonderful manager, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa and the leadership of this hallowed chambers for their strides and the wonderful leadership they have given Delta State thus far.”
A member of the PDP, Hon Ayiba Tonye Timi, who represents Patani state constituency, seconded the motion.
The House later unanimously passed a vote of confidence on the governor, speaker and the other principal officers.